Brisons Veor – Little Boxes

Before Mary Morris and I went down to Cornwall we set ourselves a small project. It was an activity we knew would be achievable during our time there and, if you follow me on Instagram, you will have seen the posts I put up each day that documented it. The working title of the project is Little Boxes.

P1020218_edited-1

14 Little Boxes on the windowsill at Brisons Veor. The front row was filled by Mary Morris and the back row by me. The headland in the distance, through the murk, is Land’s End.

A couple of weeks before we left for the residency we spent a very convivial afternoon in Mary’s studio, each making seven small, square ceramic containers  – one for every day of the week at Brisons Veor. The idea was simple: to find, each day, one small object to put into a box that either had a significance or represented an idea from the exploration and experience of that day.

P1020186

I’ve mentioned before that I often set myself rules, and the rule for this exercise was that the object I picked up had to be within arm’s reach when I stopped to write or draw in my sketchbook. However, I quickly realised that this particular rule created a problem, as many of the ‘things’ were too big to fit into the Little Box. But a problem can turn into an opportunity and in this case I was forced to alter the object in some way in order to fit it in. Deciding ‘what, how and why’, created something that, I think, is more interesting and has more significance than the original unaltered object would have had.

This is what I made:

IMG_2491

Day 1: A ball of string

Dead Monbretia leaves are found all along this coastline at this time of the year. The bulbs are invasive and have colonised large swathes of the cliffs. I picked a handful of dead leaves by the coastguard hut at Cape Cornwall and made 5 metres of string from it. When wound up it made a surprisingly small ball.

IMG_2503

Day 2: A spool of seaweed

A piece of Tangle or Oarweed picked up from the beach at Priest’s Cove. Each frond of seaweed is quite thick, but I cut it into thin strips and wound it around its stem.

IMG_2508

Day 3: A spool of found rope

I sat on the beach at Sennen Cove writing about seaweed, however, there was a shockingly large amount of plastic caught up amongst it. This is sea-worn plastic with two pieces of polypropylene rope that have been unravelled, knotted together and wound around it. Notice the tiny shell that has grown around the rope.

IMG_2515

Day 4: A spool of seaweed

Sea-thong or thong weed and a bit of worn rubber bicycle tyre collected from where I sat on the beach at Porth Leddon.

IMG_2521

Day 5: A twist of rope

More discarded rope bound with linen thread. I especially like the melted bit at one end. This would have been done originally to stop the rope from unravelling. From Porth Leddon.

IMG_2523

Day 6: A book

Another visit to Priest’s Cove. This time I was sitting just above the beach by a row of fisherman’s huts. This piece of rusty metal had broken off from the corrugated roof of one of the huts. It has been bent round to support one of the prints that I spent a couple of afternoons making. The little cut up pile is about 2x1x1 cm.

IMG_2526

Day 7: Cornish slate

The last Little Box contains an object that I haven’t altered. It is a piece of slate collected from a little man-made concavity in the cliff just outside the house at Brisons Veor. It could have originally been a small quarry.  Looking at the boxes on the last day I realised that I wanted the collection to have something in it that spoke of that particular place – something that was the essence of it. This piece of slate comes from the very cliff that the house we stayed in is built into.

We both enjoyed this project. It was easy and quick to do, but nevertheless the process of collecting and making has, for both of us, sparked ideas that may well turn into something more significant. Next time I’ll tell you about one of my ideas …..

11 thoughts on “Brisons Veor – Little Boxes

  1. Valerie Lynn Delaney

    Fascinating! One so often collects , photographs the detritus of objects even whilst walking river or the shore but I find it hard to see the ” larger picture ” once they are in my possession.This is atimely article . Thank you .

    Reply
    1. debbielyddon Post author

      Hi Valerie, I agree that ‘collecting’ is very easy and then deciding what to do with the collection much more difficult. Sometimes, I think, it is best not to do much at all but just to let the ‘things’ do their own work.

      Reply
  2. Eileen Coates

    Your blog is inspiring! I especially like the way you have stitched the laminaria. I have been doing occasional creative projects with seaweed over recent years; last summer I wove oarweed on the beach and left the pieces of ‘fabric’ for the tide to reclaim. Thank you for taking the time to share your process of research and making

    Reply
  3. vdbolyard

    i’ve just stumbled back over to your blog, and must say that this post is just lovely. a great idea, and ideas contained.

    Reply
  4. Genie Geer

    Wow, such good stuff! It’s good that today my wifi is allowing me to get caught up on reading my fav blogs. I was unplugged for few weeks during my recent move to a retirement apartment while they were working on their equipment. It’s a treat to see what you’ve been up to! I especially adore little boxes and containers and the treasures they might hold.

    Reply

Leave a comment