Harrogate Knit & Stitch show

This week I’m gearing up for the next Knitting and Stitching show that starts in Harrogate next week. My gallery is a slightly different size and shape to the one at Ally Pally and so I’ve had to do a rethink of what I am going to show and how it is going to look.

fullsizeoutput_3f7

This gallery is squarer and smaller than before and so, like at Ally Pally, there won’t be room to show all of my Sluice Creek Cloths. At Ally Pally I was able to include the largest of the cloths – Curlew Song, but there won’t be room for it in Harrogate. Because of its large size, Curlew Song needs to be hung on an outside wall of the gallery, (inside it dominates the space and overpowers the other exhibits). On an outside wall it has space and you, as a viewer can look at it from a distance. Unfortunately I haven’t got a large enough outside wall this time around but I am very pleased that the wall is big enough for the Sluice Creek ClothTidal Flow, which I haven’t previously shown. This means that I will be able to hang all the smaller cloths together for the first time.

fullsizeoutput_3f6

I want the gallery space to look uncluttered and let the cloths have room to ‘breathe’, but I think there will still be wall space and so I have made some more small Marshscape Collages to replace the ones that I sold at the last show. I’ve made quite a lot! There are two groups of nine – one greenish/black group and one bluish/black group. They are the same format as before: 20 x 20cms, mounted on painted board with a waxed linen ‘frame’. Until I get there I won’t know whether I will hang both groups – it depends on the space, how I feel, how they look etc. etc….!

fullsizeoutput_3fa

Here are a selection of photos from the greenish group.

fullsizeoutput_3f5

fullsizeoutput_3f8

Do come and say hallo if you are at the show.

5 thoughts on “Harrogate Knit & Stitch show

  1. Amanda Hislop

    Debbie, a lovely post. I will be at Harrogate on the Artists in Action stand on the Saturday and Sunday, I’m driving up on Friday so will have time to explore your exhibition in the afternoon. I had a quick look at Ally Pally, looking forward to spending more time. I enjoy reading your blog and seeing how your work is developing.

    Reply
  2. soewnearth

    I would love more details on the mounting and framing of your works. I currently have some pieces I did and have no real idea on how to display them

    Reply

Leave a Reply

