Breathing deeply

I haven’t been up in Wells for a month as my life recently has been taken up with exhibiting and teaching. It has been hectic but exciting. I had a flying visit yesterday for one night as I wanted to go the the AGM of the North Norfolk Exhibition Project. I showed work for this wonderful organisation at Cley Church in the summer and I’ll be putting in a proposal for CLEY17 next year.

fullsizeoutput_3e4

I managed to fit in 2 walks in the 24 hours that I was there – a chance to stretch my legs and to take some deep breaths of fresh air. This morning I got up at dawn (which isn’t that early at this time of year) to have a look around.

fullsizeoutput_3e8

It was high tide and there wasn’t a breath of wind. The sun was just coming up, peeping through building clouds and silhouetting  the pontoon and boats as I looked back towards the town. The still water was like a mirror as the sunlight was reflected back into the sky. Geese were chattering, out of sight, over on the marsh and every now and then there was the peep of a redshank. The wash of a lone fishing boat split the flat water in two as it wended its way, twisting backwards and forwards, along the channel out to the open water.

fullsizeoutput_3ec

fullsizeoutput_3f3

I sat on a bench quietly to look and listen – there was no one else about.

fullsizeoutput_3ed

fullsizeoutput_3ef

It’s good to breathe deeply and relax.

 

7 thoughts on “Breathing deeply

  1. Linda Turner

    Dear Debbie

    I have been following your blogs for some time and so enjoy not only seeing the pictures but also reading your descriptive narrative. I so wish I lived nearer to the Norfolk Coast to take in those muddy walks quiet creeks and beautiful skies to translate into textile pieces.

    Thank you so much and keep posting!

    Linda

    http://www.lindaturner.co.uk

    ________________________________

    Reply

Leave a Reply

