The Sluice Creek Cloths

There is only a week to go before the Knitting & Stitching show! Nearly everything is packed up in copious amounts of bubblewrap and I am running around deciding on slightly strange things like how to transport 2 buckets of dry sand without it spilling out everywhere. Today I’ll give you a bit of information about the main part of the Moments of Being body of work – The Sluice Creek Cloths.

p1030104

Sluice Creek is a tidal inlet just off the main channel at Wells-next-the-Sea. It runs north/south and narrows to the north in a labyrinth of seemingly endless inlets and creeks. It is a quiet place but at the same time it teems with life and movement – there is always something new and interesting to see and experience.

Version 2

The Sluice Creek Cloths are inspired by the memory of encounters with physical processes that I have encountered whilst out walking or sailing: the sun moving over the marsh and creating shadows, the clink of halyards knocking against masts, the shape of a bend in the creek or the way saltwater marks my clothes.

dsc_2744

I have invested a huge amount of time and effort in these cloths and they have taken me about 18 months to make. There are seven cloths in the series. Each one is made from linen and hangs double over a shiny, varnished pole. The mark I have chosen to use as my personal notation for this body of work is the hole. It is a space – an immaterial emptiness that is surrounded by a physical material that describes its shape and allows us to see a nothing. The holes I have sewn into the linen of The Sluice Creek Cloths are edged with thread-bound iron wire. These evoke the small metal eyelets and fastenings that are in tarpaulins, boat covers and sails found in a coastal environment. Each cloth has been dipped in the sea several times to rust the eyelets and to mark the cloth.
p1000118
The information I have written over the past three posts has come from a book that I have designed and self-published to accompany the Moments of Being exhibition. It is a 20 x 20cms, soft-covered book with 60 pages. It includes text that describes my inspiration and way of working and has photographs that I have taken myself of the work and the environment that inspired it. It will be on sale at the show next week. It will also be on sale  after the show in my shop.
dsc_2414
Do come and say hello if you are there!
7 thoughts on “The Sluice Creek Cloths

  1. ersimarina

    I also wish I could see the exhibition, I admire your work very much. I live in Spain and the Mediterranean runs in my vains, so to speak. I’d love to see how it contrasts with the big, deep ocean. Best of luck with the show.

    Reply
  2. Kathy

    So wonderful to see these live at the show today, as I said earlier, they really were so much better “in the cloth” than I expected. It was a pleasure to get up close and see the way they changed as one moved past them, the subtleties of their colours, and those lovely serendipitous shadows on the wall.
    Delightful
    Thank you

    Reply
  3. Marian Roberts

    At last I have seen your work close up and met you. I was not disappointed, it really moves me. I have just been looking at your book, it makes me want to immediately get to the north Norfolk coast. Thanks for your inspiration.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

