Sea Lavender

P1000884

I’m hiding away, hermit like, at the moment, sewing for hours each day to get the work for my gallery at the Knitting and Stitching shows in the autumn finished. I already have a great deal of work, but it is amazing that the nearer the show gets, the more concentrated I become. I have been finding that work I made nearly a year ago doesn’t seem to work and I keep making one last thing in order to push things a bit further. This obviously has to stop at some point as I don’t have the time to go on for ever, so I have set my self a deadline of the end of July to finish the series of cloths – The Sluice Creek Cloths – and I am presently sewing the very last one (it will be the very last one!).

P1000807

It isn’t all nose to the grindstone however, and I am  getting out at least once a day to sail or walk.

P1000852

This is one of my favourite times of year out on the marsh as the sea lavender (limonium vulgar) is flowering and a soft purple haze is covering large areas of the saltings. It is a tolerant, hardy plant that gets covered by the sea when there is a high marsh tide.

P1000859

Each stem is about 30cm tall and the flower heads have a dry look to them. It is a bit of a pilgramage to go and pick a small bunch each year. It keeps, out of water, for months although by Christmas it has lost its colour and is usually rather dusty and cobwebby.

P1000885

4 thoughts on “Sea Lavender

  1. Patricia Donnelly

    your salt vessels touched me deeply…made me realize how much i am missing the period in my life when i lived by the ocean….i wept….thanks for connecting me with this part of me….they are beautiful.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

