Cley16

For the past couple of days I have been at St Margaret’s church, Cley-next-the-Sea, helping to get the Cley16 exhibition off the ground. Today I hung my large suspended work, Curlew Song.

image

I have been working on this piece for the best part of four months and it has been a stupendous effort to get it done on time. Because of its large size (350 x 150 cms) I haven’t been able to get a proper sense of its scale and proportion. Hanging in my studio it seemed enormous, but I knew that in the vast, airiness of the tall church aisle it was likely to get lost and I felt very nervous this morning as we suspended the pole, slung the cloth over it and hoisted it aloft.

image

I think it’s ok. There are other works around it (a 6m tall dress, a swan in flight and an angel)  and it feels right. The open, drawn thread work reflects the black leadwork of the latticed glass windows that line run top and bottom all down the side of the church. The large, sewn rings provide ‘holes’ through which there is a clear view to the other works and the beautiful architecture of the church. It has been made so that it can be viewed from either side. It moves back and forth gently in the breeze from the open door. Yes, I think I’m pleased.

image

You can read some of the background to this piece here and here.

The exhibition starts next week on 7 July and runs for a month until 7 August at St Margaret’s Church, Cley-next-the-Sea, Norfolk.

Right …. I’ve got to get on with the work for the Knitting and Stitching Shows in the autumn now …. I’ve a busy summer ahead!

 

 

5 thoughts on “Cley16

  1. Sarah

    Hi Debbie, happy to see your piece is up. It looks terrific. I’m glad you’re happy with it. I’ll fit in a visit before our holiday.
    Sarah x

    Reply
  2. Yvonne Wright

    I think you should be very, very pleased with it. It looks wonderful to me, sorry I can´t get to see it in person.

    Reply
  3. Judy Martin

    To make something so large and yet so fragile and hand-worked is a challenge and an accomplishment. Your piece works beautifully. I wish I could see it installed. xo

    Reply
  4. Jackie Amies

    Hi Debbie,
    I was at Cley today hanging my pieces for the exhibition. The whole church looks lovely and there are some very interesting pieces this year. Your work looks really lovely.
    Hopefully we can catch up at the Private View.

    Reply
  5. Marian Roberts

    Really looking forward to seeing your work at Cley. Liked your Cornwall holiday blog, reminded me of some good times in St Ives.
    Marian

    Reply

Leave a Reply

