Holes (again)

I am on holiday in Cornwall and a trip to the Barbara Hepworth Sculpture Garden in St Ives has provided much inspiration.

In the museum I read:

‘Even as in music, not only the sounds but also the silences enter into the rhythm of the composition, so matter and empty space form in their harmony these carvings.’

That sums up everything I have been thinking about holes, space and material. There is no more to say ……

P1000413

P1000425

P1000423

P1000441

P1000444

P1000451

P1000458

P1000463

P1000465

P1000470

P1000472

4 thoughts on “Holes (again)

  1. Joan McQuillan

    Wish I were with you in St Ives, and the Barbara Hepworth garden is just inspirational – loved those images looking through.
    Enjoy the sunshine

    Reply
  2. vivlm

    Lovely photos, reminds me of my visit there last summer. I’ve just had my 1st experience of sculpture this week on Portland so they resonate a lot
    Viv M

    Reply
  3. Pingback: A week of documenting: Cornwall – Day 5 | debbie lyddon

Leave a Reply

