A week of collecting – Day 3

Day 3: Cley Beach – Rubber Fishing Float

4

Cley beach is a shelving pebble beach. It isn’t very deep and strong breaking waves seem to change its contours with each tide. There is not usually much detritus on the shoreline as I think the force of the sea sweeps away any flotsam and jetsam twice a day.

At best I was expecting to pick up a small, smooth, grey sandstone pebble (my favourite). But I struck lucky and found a rubber fishing float. This is the first I have found hereabouts although I have collected many of them along the south coast at Hastings and Dungeness. I love the ‘thingness’ of this float. It is something to turn over in the hand – rubbery, rather grubby, worn and very satisfying.

2 thoughts on “A week of collecting – Day 3

Leave a Reply

