Exploring

I spent four days over the last weekend teaching a course on 3-D Textiles at Studio 11 in Eastbourne. It was a real treat to be in a well stocked studio that has everything you could possibly need for a creative retreat.

The weather was smiling on us and we spent time at Birling Gap exploring and getting to know that place through drawing, collecting and listening. Back in the studio the beachcombings provided everyone with their initial inspiration for an investigation of materials, space and form. Here are a few photos to give a taste of what we got up to.

P1020338

birling gap 034

birling gap 080

P1020343

P1020353

P1020359

P1020347

P1020362

P1020379

P1020385

P1020392

P1020434

P1020437

P1020399

P1020404

P1020413

P1020398

Well done everyone!

It is possible that I may be running the same course again next year. Watch this space for the date.

11 thoughts on “Exploring

  1. Joan McQuillan

    Wow what an amazing weekend and what fascinating stuff you produced – just up my street I am very jealous

    Reply
  2. Jackie Amies

    Debbie you were such a wonderfully inspiring teacher for the full 4 days. I have come home buzzing with ideas and things I want to explore further. The Eastbourne studio was such a wonderful environment to work in. The visit and time spent at Birling Gap was an experience that I will treasure for a long time. Thank you.

    Reply
  3. soewnearth

    Hi Debbie, I would be really interested in knowing if you will be running the course next year at the same time. I am currently planning a trip to Spain and Portugal ( from Oz) for September next year and if you are I would look at extending my trip to include doing your class.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

