Boats, bits and covers

I went out the other day to draw …. but my sketchbook remained firmly in my bag and I came home with a load of photos instead. I never know what is going to catch my eye when I’m out and about and this time I was seduced by the covers and fixings on the boats pulled up on the bank of the creek.  As I’m interested in how cloth is used in a coastal environment, the way in which this paraphernalia is used in conjunction with it is always an inspiration for my work.

An interesting looped fixing.

P1020155

Some good knots.

P1020157

P1020191

P1020161

A shiny shackle and several ‘joining’ methods.

P1020158

A good thick rope and some lacing.

P1020181

A furled sail with zig-zag stitching.

P1020184

Fancy studs (I like the verdigris and the imprints).

P1020190

And finally rust ….

P1020176P1020178 P1020180

and a few masts!

P1010897

2 thoughts on “Boats, bits and covers

  1. shemann

    how interesting, even though I live near Lake Erie, I don’t get a chance to observe boats up close, love the knots, would be fun to learn how to make them- love the different shapes they make, the twisting and turning, thank you for sharing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

