Holed cloth

It occurred to me after my last post that I hadn’t written about the things I have been making recently. That doesn’t mean that I haven’t been doing anything. I have been working on a new set of ideas and the work is still at an early stage – embryonic and unformed. I’m still don’t quite know where I’m going with it …. I have an idea of what it could be, but I’m not there yet. It’s an exciting time and I enjoy the experimentation. These two cloths are hole-y investigations (not finished pieces). I’m thinking about rhythm and metre, counting, space and silence, flow and disruption. As always the materials I use are important to relating the work to place. Therefore these cloths have been soaked in the sea and this afternoon I photographed them after they had been drying overnight in the beach hut. I want the stitching on the eyelets (especially on the black cloth) to become really crusty and dark. I’ve dipped both of them again so hopefully the rust will stain the stitching even more. The cloth has become stiffer with the seawater and I really like the handle of it. P1010645   P1010648 P1010650 I’ve got a couple of other things drying in the hut …. I’ll show you when they’re cooked!

6 thoughts on “Holed cloth

  1. Judy Martin

    The eyelets are really evocative. Soaking them in sea water and in that gorgeous dark mud…wonderful. I am very moved by this work and by the work you showed in studio 21. Well done. x

    Reply

Leave a Reply

