Cat’s Paws

DSC_0515a

I’m in Norfolk whilst some much needed work is done on a leaky conservatory roof. I spent the whole day indoors sewing and making cups of tea for workmen, but early evening I went out for a walk as I needed to stretch my legs and my eyes – to look at something that was further away than just beyond the end of my nose.

This evening there was a strong gusty wind. As I walked the wind seemed to spill over the bank next to the path and snatch at the surface of the water creating fleeting dark marks that bloomed and then dissipated. Again and again the sea’s surface was broken by these shadowy, transient marks –  ‘dark, salt. clear, moving, utterly free’  – they were mesmerising. These ripples on the water are called Cat’s Paws.

I love seeing things that I don’t expect – things to remember, to store in the memory, to use in the future ….

4 thoughts on “Cat’s Paws

Leave a Reply

