Exhibition

I’m all packed up and ready to go! The ideas are still coming for new work, but I’ve had to curb the creative flow and make a final decision on what I consider will make a cohesive show.

Please come along next week if you are in the area and have a look and a chat – I will be in the gallery the whole time. Here are the details ….

3

Caught by the Tide

An exhibition of cloth works and drawings that respond to the environment of the North Norfolk coast

by Debbie Lyddon

Society of Designer Craftsmen Gallery

24, Rivington Street,

London EC2A 3DU

Monday 3rd March – Saturday 8th March 2014

Monday – Friday 11am – 6pm, Saturday  11am – 4pm

The cloth works and drawings in Caught by the Tide present a personal response to the landscape of North Norfolk, in particular to the salt marsh coast that lies between Burnham Overy Staithe and Cley-next–the Sea. 

The work originates from thoughts and memories that are a consequence of experiencing this place and paying attention. In Caught by the Tide I have tried to think of ways of representing objects, happenings, sounds and textures that I have noticed in this landscape in a way that is not purely visual. Contained within all the works are visual notations of sound, textures and surfaces that encourage touch and ideas of material and process. I’m trying to say ‘Look what I have noticed. What do you think? What does it mean to you?’ 

Caught by the Tide aims to present a multi-sensory interpretation of the North Norfolk coast – one that can be seen, touched and heard.

 P1180663

 I hope to see you there!

4 thoughts on “Exhibition

  1. judith Wilson

    Would really love to see this work but alas I live in Australia! Debbie you work is beautiful. You literally immerse yourself in this landscape. Your interpretation is wonderfully unique – the use of the natural elements is inspired and I particularly enjoyed the soundwalk drawings. Best of luck with the exhibition, Judith.

    Reply
    1. debbielyddon Post author

      Thank you Judith – it would be a bit of a trek from Australia! I’ll be posting photos of the exhibition in due course. I love your use of the word ‘immerse’. It is what I aim to do – being literally wrapped by the sights, sounds, surfaces and textures of a place I hope my work reflects something of that. Debbie

      Reply

Leave a Reply

