Soundmark drawings

I wanted to get these drawings finished and bound before Christmas but time ran away with me …. however they are finished now and I am really pleased with them.

The drawings are based on musical graphic scores – a method of writing down sound through drawing rather than musical notation. They are inspired by the sounds I hear as I walk and explore the Norfolk coastline: birdsong, the wind, waves, footsteps.  In these drawings I  am connecting the repetitive and rhythmic elements that are contained within both the aural and visual landscape.

DSC_0506 DSC_0507 DSC_0508 DSC_0509 DSC_0510

These little concertina books will be available for sale at my exhibition Caught by the Tide in March.

 

12 thoughts on “Soundmark drawings

Leave a Reply

