Teddies

I was flicking through the catalogue to Grayson Perry’s The Tomb of the Unknown Craftsmen looking for a reference to shrines and objects that contain memories of place, when I came across the picture of his teddy bear, Alan Measles. Alan Measles is for Grayson Perry ‘a guru and living god in (his) personal cosmology’.

Well here is a picture of my husbands Ted …. do you notice a similarity? I love the way their clothes are mirrored with the buttons matching the trousers (although I believe Alan Measles is sporting a natty all-in-one!)

P1150523

Ted

 ted

Alan Measles

Both show signs of being well loved, but if disrepair is a sign of teddy love mine wins! Goodness knows where his ears and eyes went – and notice the repairs done on his paws when I was about 12 ….

P1150525

 My Teddy

…. I need look no further for an object that contains so many memories and such comfort and friendship.

Leave a Reply

