Holidays 2

In the last post I showed some of the things I had noticed on Harris – here are some of the places.

Sketches serve as a visual reminder of a place………

……. and written notes remind me of what it felt like to experience it.

‘The tide is coming in and the sea is creeping nearer as I sit. The sun is warm on my back – very warm in fact! There is a slight breeze with a cool edge hitting my left cheek. My feet which are bare after a paddle in freezing water, also feel slightly chilled.

A small flock of seagulls has just landed on the sea in front of me. They flap and jostle for space  – as if there isn’t enough room!’

However it is only in my memory that all the senses combine to give a true understanding of what it was like to be there.

Leave a Reply

